THE MANAGER致信托单位持有人之信函

尊敬的信托单位持有人,

凯德商用中国信托于2016年庆祝10周年之后,在迈入2017 财年之际,决定将焦点放至投资组合重构上,以进一步优 化资产质量和提高财务业绩。

尽管面对线上与线下竞争日趋激烈以及消费模式不断变化等 市场挑战,我们于2017财年仍然取得佳绩。这个成就体现 了我们资产的潜在实力以及我们在快速发展的零售环境中为 优化产品和提升消费者体验所做出的努力。

强劲的财务业绩

2017财年,凯德商用中国信托总收入达11.222亿人民币,房 地产净收入达7.306亿人民币,分别同比增长9.2%和9.1%。 增长主要归因于凯德广场•新南的首次全财年贡献——其贡 献足以抵消脱售凯德MALL•安贞所失去的收入——以及我们 核心多租户购物中心的韧性。根据2017财年底扩大后的单 位基数,全财年每单位派息同比增加0.5%至10.10新分。

以凯德商用中国信托2017年12月31日的闭市价1.62新元 计算,我们的股息收益率高达6.2%,相对其他投资选择颇 具吸引力。2017财年间,凯德商用中国信托单位价格上涨 18.2%,表现优于海峡时报指数。包括年内所公布的每单 位派息,自2017财年伊始便投资凯德商用中国信托的单 位持有人一共获得25.6%1 的总回报。这一成绩践行了我们 为单位持有人提供长期可持续收益和总回报增长的承诺。

稳健的经营指标

尽管面对充满挑战的经营环境,凯德商用中国信托仍然成功 维持了稳健的经营指标,这体现了我们资产的质量。2017财 年,租户销售额和客流分量别同比增长0.8%和4.7%,而截 至2017年12月31日的投资组合整体出租率仍高居于95.4%。 2017财年间签订的616份租约,平均租金比之前提高了 5.6%。投资组合估值2 同比上涨2.2%至119.69亿人民币。

优化投资组合质量

过去一年,我们通过积极的资产重组进一步优化我们的投 资组合。为了增强我们的财务弹性以抓住新增长机会,我们 于2017年9月14日以2.343亿新元出售整租项目凯德MALL• 安贞,实现0.373亿新元的净收益。该购物中心的租赁期截 至2025年才结束,增长潜力有限而且资本支出日益增加, 此时出售是个适时的决定。

随后,凯德商用中国信托于2018年1月31日与凯德集团以 51:49的出资比例,用17.139亿人民币 3 完成了对广州乐峰 广场51.0%权益的收购,该购物中心具有更强的增长潜力和 更长的有效土地使用期。我们通过这一项增值性收购进军新 的一线城市,扩展了凯德商用中国信托的业务覆盖范围, 并进一步深化了我们在凯德集团核心城市群中的业务。同 时,该收购让凯德商用中国信托获益于凯德集团在广州的 现有业务网络,并加强租赁方面的协同效益。

通过积极资产管理优化增长

凯德商用中国信托在2017财年取得的佳绩依然依托其两 大核心项目一如既往的出色业绩,它们分别为凯德MALL• 西直门和凯德MALL•望京。这两大资产在租户销售额和续 租租金方面均取得稳健增长。通过紧跟不断变化的消费者 需求,这两家购物中心成功成为倡导新生活方式和零售理 念的先锋平台。

凯德MALL•西直门在2017年欢庆10周年之际,为其地下 层和第1层进行了内部翻修,进一步改善了购物环境。在 凯德MALL•望京,凯德商用中国信托从该购物中心主要租 户手中提前收回位于第4层约4,700平方米的空间。空间的 改造正如火如荼进行中,将引进收益较高的特色专卖店, 其中包括含咖啡馆的时尚书店、创意厨房和美食餐厅。截 至2017年12月底,空间90%以上已签约租户,并按计划将 于2018年第二季度逐步开业。

在武汉,我们继续重振凯德新民众乐园的业务。随着中山 大道在2016年末结束长达28个月的封路,凯德新民众乐园 在2017财年迎来了客流量和租户销售额的显著增长。为了 提升其吸引力,该购物中心不断引进更多体验式的零售和 娱乐理念,以及潮流商店和餐厅。此外,我们还与广受欢 迎的联合办公空间运营商优客工场(Ucommune,前称 UrWork)合作,吸引新一波办公人群入驻凯德新民众乐 园,并通过优客工场成员的创新零售举措和互动进一步提 高客流量。我们还将与优客工场的合作延展至凯德MALL• 望京,并从这两个市场的信息交流中受益。

在上海,凯德七宝购物广场继续积极巩固其亲家庭购物中 心的地位。其计划于2018年推出上海最大的屋顶儿童学 习乐园。

新增长催化剂

于2016年9月30日收购的凯德广场•新南,首次在2017财年 录得全年收益贡献。收购凯德广场•新南后,我们深化与购 物者的互动,还通过引进高档国际品牌进一步增强业态组 合,并通过翻新影院和停车场设施提升购物体检。我们的 积极资产管理策略已在凯德广场•新南取得成效,促成客流 量增加,截至2017财年底的出租率提高至99.0%。我们相信 凯德广场•新南的成功增值将于2018财年在乐峰广场重现。

严谨的资本管理

作为我们审慎资本管理方式的一部分,我们为2017财年到 期共计4.505亿新元债务进行偿还或以有竞争力的利率进行 再融资,直至2019年无需再融资。截至2017年12月31日, 凯德商用中国信托的负债比率稳定在28.4%,还贷期限延长 至3.37年,平均债务成本为2.48%。为了在不断上涨的利率 环境中拥有更高的确定性,我们将截至2017年12月31日总 贷款的80%对冲为固定利率贷款。

2017年10月,凯德商用中国信托将其价值5亿新元的多元 货币中期票据计划更新和修正为价值10亿新元的多元货币 债务发行计划。2017年12月,我们成功通过私募筹资净 额1.017亿新元,为收购乐峰广场提供部分资金。该私募 发售被超额认购且已全额行使增发权,证明了现有和新投 资者的强大支持力。

凯德商用中国信托在2017财年继续实施配售再投资计划, 在单位持有人慷慨支持下,保留了0.414亿新元现金,用于 偿还贷款。该计划自2013年3月成立以来一直获得单位持有 人的良好反应。计划提供的好处,包括让单位持有人选择获 得单位替代全部或部分配售现金,和以折价增持单位,增持 单位无需支付经纪人手续费或印花税。同时,该计划为凯德 商用中国信托提供有效的替代筹资源,增强其财务弹性。

推动可持续发展

为实践凯德商用中国信托对购物中心所在社区的再投资承 诺,我们一如既往通过支持慈善和环保活动提倡可持续发 展。这些活动包括凯德集团的标志性年度企业社会责任项 目之一“凯德•我的第一个书包”和一年一度的“地球一 小时”全球性节能活动。我们的购物中心也继续举办广泛 活动以支持不同的社会公益与慈善事业。

展望未来

2017年,中国GDP同比增长6.9%,达82.7万亿人民币4, 这得益于持续向高质量、可持续发展的平稳过渡。社会消费品零售总额增长10.2%,城镇人均可支配收入与支出分别增长了6.5%和5.4% 4。2017年,消费支出依旧是中国经济增长的主要动力,对中国GDP增长的贡献率达58.8%4。 中国稳定的增长势头预计将在2018年持续5,凯德商用中国信托以家庭为导向的购物中心将受益于中国的可持续增 长以及日益增加的可支配收入和消费性开支。

我们致力于为单位持有人提供可持续的价值,为此,我们 将一如既往地专注于优化增长和改进经营效率。展望未 来,我们将继续采用严谨的资本管理方式,积极寻找收购 机会,为单位持有人创造更多价值。

致谢

我们要借此机会向历届和现任董事以及公司员工在2017年 的敬业奉献表示衷心的感谢。

廖青山先生自凯德商用中国信托于2006年上市开始任职董 事会,于2009年接任董事会主席一职,为公司鞠躬尽瘁贡 献十多年之后,于2017年4月20日光荣退休。在此,我们想 感谢廖先生为凯德商用中国信托作出的巨大奉献及其作为董 事会主席的出色领导力。我们祝愿他退休之后一切安好。

陈智雄先生于2017年4月1日卸任首席执行官兼执行董事。 我们想借此机会感谢陈先生在其任职首席执行官的7年期 间,带领凯德商用中国信托日益壮大。我们祝愿他在凯德 集团的新岗位上一切顺利。

另外,我们还要感谢已于2018年1月1日卸任董事会的廖茸 桐先生和黄国祥先生。

同时,我们热烈欢迎四位新董事,粱宝吉先生、范丽丽女 士、李志勤先生和林卓斌先生,他们将为我们带来丰富的 经验和专业知识。粱宝吉先生和范丽丽女士,分别于2017 年4月20日和2018年1月1日,作为独立董事加入董事会, 李志勤先生和林卓斌 先生于2018年1月1日作为非独立董 事加入董事会。

最后,我们要感谢单位持有人、商业伙伴、零售商和购物者对我们的坚定支持和信任。


苏锦春
主席

陈子威
首席执行官

2018年2月27日


Footnotes:

  1. 基于截至2016年12月31日为止的闭市价1.37新元和截至2017年12月31日为止的闭市价1.62新元。
  2. 不包括已于2017年9月14日脱售的凯德MALL•安贞。
  3. 收购完成后可能有所调整。
  4. 数据源自中国国家统计局。
  5. 新华社2018年1月7日报道“经济学家预测2018年中国稳定增长”。
BACK TO TOP

THE MANAGERMessage to Unitholders

Dear Unitholders,

After celebrating a decade of operations for CRCT in 2016, we entered financial year 2017 (FY 2017) with a renewed focus to reconstitute our portfolio to enhance the quality of our assets and improve financial performance.

We continued to deliver a commendable set of results for FY 2017, despite challenging market dynamics marked by increasing competition from players – both online and offline – and changing consumption patterns. These point to the underlying strength of CRCT’s assets and our continual efforts to optimise our offerings and uplift shoppers’ experience in a rapidly evolving retail environment.

Strong Financial Results

In FY 2017, CRCT achieved a gross revenue of RMB1,122.2 million and net property income (NPI) of RMB730.6 million, representing a year-on-year increase of 9.2% and 9.1% respectively. The growth was largely due to the maiden full-year contribution of CapitaMall Xinnan – which has more than offset the loss of contribution from CapitaMall Anzhen following its divestment - coupled with the resilience of our core multi-tenanted malls. We continued to deliver sustainable growth with a 0.5% year-on-year rise in full-year distribution per Unit (DPU) to 10.10 cents, on an enlarged unit base at the end of FY 2017.

Based on CRCT’s closing price of S$1.62 on 31 December 2017, our distribution yield of 6.2% offers an attractive yield relative to alternative investments. In FY 2017, CRCT’s unit price appreciated 18.2%, outperforming the Straits Times Index. Including the DPU declared during the year, Unitholders who have been with us since the start of FY 2017 would have enjoyed a total return of 25.6%1. This achievement is in line with our commitment to deliver sustainable income distributions and growth in total return for our Unitholders over the long term.

Resilient Operating Metrics

Despite a challenging operating environment, CRCT maintained a healthy set of operating metrics, reflecting the quality of its assets. For FY 2017, tenants’ sales and shopper traffic registered a year-on-year growth of 0.8% and 4.7% respectively, while portfolio occupancy remained high at 95.4% as at 31 December 2017. During the year, 616 new and renewed leases were signed with an average increase of 5.6% over preceeding rents. Portfolio valuation2 rose 2.2% year-on-year to RMB11,969 million.

Strengthening Portfolio Quality

During the year, we further strengthened our portfolio through proactive reconstitution. To increase our financial flexibility to seize new growth opportunities, we divested the master-leased CapitaMall Anzhen on 14 September 2017 for S$234.3 million and realised a net gain of S$37.3 million. The divestment was timely, as the mall was master-leased until 2025 with limited upside and increasing capital expenditure commitments.

On 31 January 2018, CRCT completed the acquisition of a 51.0% interest in Rock Square in Guangzhou that has stronger growth potential and a longer balance tenure, for RMB1,713.9 million3 in a 51:49 joint venture with CapitaLand. The accretive acquisition strategically diversifies CRCT’s footprint into another first-tier city and deepens our presence within the Group’s core city clusters. It also allows CRCT to leverage on CapitaLand’s established operations in Guangzhou and enjoy new leasing synergies across our portfolio.

Optimising Growth Through Proactive Asset Management

CRCT’s achievements in FY 2017 continued to be anchored by the sustained strong performances of its two largest core assets, CapitaMall Xizhimen and CapitaMall Wangjing, which recorded healthy growth in tenants’ sales and positive rental reversions. By staying abreast of changing consumer needs, the two malls are well-placed to serve as pioneering platforms for new lifestyle and retail concepts.

During the year, CapitaMall Xizhimen celebrated its tenth anniversary with an interior facelift of its basement and first floor that further enhanced its shopping environment. At CapitaMall Wangjing, CRCT early-recovered approximately 4,700 square metres of space on level 4 from the mall’s anchor tenant. The recovered space is being transformed into higher-yielding specialty stores with differentiated retail options, including a lifestyle book cafe, cooking studio and gourmet offerings. As at December 2017, the recovered space was more than 90% committed and on track to open progressively from the second quarter of 2018.

In Wuhan, we are continuing the revitalisation of CapitaMall Minzhongleyuan. The mall, which was impacted by a 28-month closure of Zhongshan Avenue till end-2016, registered substantial improvement in shopper traffic and tenants’ sales in FY 2017. To enhance its appeal, the mall is adding more experiential retail and entertainment concepts, as well as trendy stores and dining offerings. Our collaboration with popular coworking space operator Ucommune (formerly UrWork) has brought new office crowds to CapitaMall Minzhongleyuan and shopper traffic to the mall has seen a boost from the innovative retail initiatives and interactive content from Ucommune’s members. By extending our collaboration with Ucommune to CapitaMall Wangjing, we have further benefitted from the cross-pollination of ideas between the two markets.

In Shanghai, CapitaMall Qibao has been proactively reinforcing its position as a family-oriented retail destination. It is targeting to launch the city’s largest rooftop children’s learning playland in 2018.

New Growth Catalysts

FY 2017 saw the first full-year contribution from CapitaMall Xinnan, which we acquired on 30 September 2016. In addition to deepening shopper engagement, we have further enhanced the trade mix by adding upmarket international brands and elevated the shopping experience by refurbishing the cinema and carpark facilities. Our proactive asset management strategy has paid off with CapitaMall Xinnan registering an improved footfall and a higher occupancy of 99.0% at the end of FY 2017. We are confident of replicating CapitaMall Xinnan’s value-added success with Rock Square in the new financial year.

Proactive Balance Sheet Management

As part of our prudent capital management approach, all debts due FY 2017 amounting to S$450.5 million have either been repaid or refinanced at competitive rates, with no refinancing requirements until 2019. As at 31 December 2017, CRCT’s gearing was healthy at 28.4%, with a debt maturity of 3.37 years, and an average cost of debt of 2.48%. In managing volatility amidst a rising interest rate environment, we have also hedged 80% of our total borrowings into fixed interest rates as at 31 December 2017.

In October 2017, CRCT updated and amended its S$500 million Multicurrency Medium Term Note Programme to its S$1 billion Multicurrency Debt Issuance Programme. In December 2017, we successfully raised net proceeds of S$101.7 million from a private placement to part finance the acquisition of Rock Square. The exercise was oversubscribed and the upsized option has been exercised in full, demonstrating strong support from existing and new investors.

CRCT’s Distribution Reinvestment Plan (DRP) in FY 2017 allowed us to conserve S$41.4 million in cash on the back of our Unitholders’ strong support, whereby the cash conserved was utilised to pare down our borrowings. Established since March 2013, the plan has been well-received with healthy take-up rates. Unitholders can enjoy benefits including electing to receive Units in lieu or part of all the cash amount of distribution, while increasing their holdings in CRCT at a discount without incurring brokerage costs or stamp duties on the new Units. The programme has also proved useful as an alternative source of funding for CRCT, while enhancing its financial flexibility.

Driving Sustainability

We continue to champion sustainability through our support of charity events and green initiatives as part of our commitment to reinvesting in the communities that our malls operate in. These initiatives include “My Schoolbag”, one of CapitaLand’s key annual corporate social responsibility programmes, participation in the annual global Earth Hour movement on energy conservation, as well as wide-ranging events at our malls to support various social and charitable causes.

Looking Ahead

China’s 2017 GDP grew 6.9% year-on-year to RMB82.7 trillion4, as the country continues its steady transition towards sustainable and quality growth. National retail sales grew 10.2%, while national urban disposable income and expenditure per capita grew 6.5% and 5.4% respectively4. Consumption contributed 58.8%4 to GDP growth in 2017, standing firm as a key economic growth driver. With the stable growth momentum expected to continue into 20185, CRCT’s family-oriented shopping malls are well-placed to benefit from China’s sustainable growth, as well as rising disposable income and consumer spend.

As part of our commitment to deliver sustainable value to our Unitholders, we remain focused in optimising growth and extracting operational efficiencies. Looking ahead, we will continue to adopt a disciplined approach towards capital management and actively seek acquisition opportunities to create more value for Unitholders.

Acknowledgments

We would like to express our appreciation to past and present Directors, and our employees for their dedication and contributions throughout the year.

Mr Liew Cheng San Victor, who began serving on the Board since the listing of CRCT in 2006 and assumed the role of Chairman of the Board in 2009, retired on 20 April 2017 after more than a decade of service. We would like to thank Mr Liew for his dedication to CRCT and strong leadership as Chairman. We wish him well in his retirement.

Mr Tony Tan Tee Hieong stepped down as Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director on 1 April 2017. We would like to thank Mr Tan for growing CRCT from strength to strength during his seven years as Chief Executive Officer. We wish him well in his new role in the CapitaLand Group.

We would also like to express our gratitude to Mr Jason Leow Juan Thong and Mr Ng Kok Siong who stepped down from the Board on 1 January 2018. At the same time, we would also like to warmly welcome our new Directors, who bring with them diverse and extensive experience and expertise. They are Mr Neo Poh Kiat and Ms Kuan Li Li, who joined the Board as Independent Directors on 20 April 2017 and 1 January 2018 respectively, as well as Mr Lee Chee Koon and Mr Lim Cho Pin Andrew Geoffrey, who joined the Board as Non-Independent Directors on 1 January 2018.

Last but not least, we would like to thank our Unitholders, business partners, retailers and shoppers for their continued confidence and support.


Soh Kim Soon
Chairman

Tan Tze Wooi
Chief Executive Officer

27 February 2018


Footnotes:

  1. Based on closing price of S$1.37 on 31 December 2016 and S$1.62 on 31 December 2017.
  2. Excludes CapitaMall Anzhen which was divested on 14 September 2017.
  3. Subject to post-completion adjustments.
  4. China National Bureau of Statistics.
  5. Xinhua, Economists forecast stable growth for China in 2018, 7 January 2018.
BACK TO TOP